For a friend

Thank you for existing
And for persisting
For telling me I’m good enough
For being there when nobody was
For loving me when they wanted me down
And for not letting me drown
I want to say a thank you for the time you made me cry
Those tears were of joy, because you held me high
I want to show you my appreciation
Even though you deserve more
I cannot comprehend the thoughts
So once again I swore,
Swore to love you and to be there
Swore to be your shield and knight
Swore to always have time to spare
And to hold your hand through the night
Once again and for the last time
I feel the need to say
A last ‘Thank you’ before you go away

Leave a Reply

